## AUGUST 24, 2023

MINUTES OF THE SCHOOL BOARD MEETING OF INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 2184, ROCK COUNTY, LUVERNE, MINNESOTA. A regular meeting of the Board of Education, ISD #2184, was held in the District Office on August 24, 2023, at 7:00 p.m.

The following members were present: Ryan DeBates, Michael DeBates, Eric Hartman, Zach Nolz, Randy Sasker, and David Wrigg. Absent: Tim Jarchow. Also present: Craig Oftedahl, Ryan Johnson, Jason Phelps, Stacy Gillette, Patrick Kroski, Emily Crabtree, and Mavis Fodness - Rock County Star Herald.

Vice-Chairperson Eric Hartman opened the meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance. It was noted there is an addendum to the agenda. Motion made by David Wrigg, second by Randy Sasker, to approve the agenda with addendum. Motion unanimously carried.

Emily Crabtree with the Luverne Area Community Foundation shared information regarding the different grants and programs associated with the School District that have been helped through this Foundation.

Administrative reports were given.

Motion made by Michael DeBates, second by Ryan DeBates, to approve the July 27, 2023, School Board meeting minutes as presented. Motion unanimously carried.

Superintendent Oftedahl reviewed the District and Student Activity checks. Motion made by Ryan DeBates, second by Randy Sasker, to approve payment of the bills as presented in the amount of \$1,246,572.52; with payroll in the amount of \$210,10676; for a grand total of \$1,456,679.28. Motion unanimously carried.

Motion made by David Wrigg, second by Zach Nolz, to receive the Student Activity report showing the balances as of July 31, 2023. Motion unanimously carried.

Motion made by David Wrigg, second by Zach Nolz, to give authorization for Craig Oftedahl, Tyler Reisch, and Brenda Teal to wire transfer depositories. Motion unanimously carried.

Superintendent Oftedahl reviewed the changes made to the Agreement with the Luverne Hockey Club. Motion made by Ryan DeBates, second by Michael DeBates, to approve the agreement as presented. Motion unanimously carried.

Motion made by David Wrigg, second by Zach Nolz, to approve the hiring of Levi Klinkner as full-time custodian effective August 16, 2023. Motion unanimously carried.

Motion made by Randy Sasker, second by David Wrigg, to approve the hiring of Jonathon Dolo as full-time custodian effective August 1, 2023. Motion unanimously carried.

Motion made by Ryan DeBates, second by Zach Nolz, to approve the hiring of Heidi Remme as part-time Title I Paraprofessional effective August 28, 2023. Motion unanimously carried.

Motion made by Michael DeBates, second by Randy Sasker, to approve the hiring of Grace Egenes as full-time Special Education Paraprofessional effective August 28, 2023. Motion unanimously carried.

Motion made by Zach Nolz, second by Ryan DeBates, to approve the hiring of Barbara WeberFriese as full-time Special Education Paraprofessional effective August 28, 2023. Motion unanimously carried.

Motion made by Ryan DeBates, second by Randy Sasker, to approve the hiring of Kylee Cohoon as part-time Title I Paraprofessional effective August 28, 2023. Motion unanimously carried.

Motion made by David Wrigg, second by Michael DeBates, to approve the hiring of Julia Christensen as full-time Special Education Paraprofessional effective August 28, 2023. Motion unanimously carried.

Motion made by Michael DeBates, second by Zach Nolz, to approve the hiring of Michaela VanGrootheest as full-time Special Education Paraprofessional effective August 28, 2023. Motion unanimously carried.

Motion made by Randy Sasker, second by Zach Nolz, to accept the resignation of Jason Berghorst as Mock Trial Coach effective August 17, 2023. Motion unanimously carried.

Motion made by David Wrigg, second by Zach Nolz, to approve Mike Maurer as a volunteer football coach. Motion unanimously carried.

Motion made by Ryan DeBates, second by David Wrigg, to approve the switch of Doug Rozeboom from two-hour food service worker to five-hour food service worker. Motion unanimously carried.

Motion made by David Wrigg, second by Randy Sasker, to accept the resignation of Maryln VanGrootheest as Special Education Paraprofessional effective August 24, 2023. Motion unanimously carried.

There were no committee reports. The upcoming meeting dates were reviewed. Motion made by David Wrigg, second by Zach Nolz, to adjourn the meeting. Motion unanimously carried.

Dated: August 24, 2023	
-	David Wrigg, Clerk